From our Magazine

The best serviced mountain huts in the region of St. Anton

Comprising almost one third of Tirol's territory, alpine pastures are the main feature of the country’s landscape.

They are just as much part of this small alpine idyll as the tinkling of cowbells and the summit crosses. Every year, farmers move 186,000 cows, pigs, horses and sheep to the 2,100 upland pastures, and only those where livestock stays for at least 60 days are called alpine pastures. Now where are the most beautiful alpine pastures in the vicinity of the Hotel Arlmont in St. Anton am Arlberg?

The Rendlalm: One of the most popular hiking destinations in the Arlberg region

Three alternative routes lead to the Rendlalm at an elevation of 1,800 m. The mountain bike route is particularly popular, and those who have tackled the ascent by bike won’t have to walk down. No sweat: Hikers can shorten the ascent or descent with the Rendlbahn cable car. From the top station, the leisurely hike on the Alpine Rose Trail to the mountain hut takes one and a half to two hours. Added bonus along the way especially in June/July: shrubs of blooming pink alpine roses. 

Tasty Tirolean traditions: Neunern & Marend

Also, many a special herb can be found along the wayside. While only about seven herbs per square metre grow in the valley, there are 60 to 70 different natural remedies growing on alpine meadows. No wonder that alpine products taste so good. On the Rendlalm, you can still find the traditional Neunern and Marend. Neunern used to be the second breakfast of the hard-working farmers. A Marend is a typical Tirolean afternoon snack with brown bread, dry-cured and smoked bacon and pickled gherkins, often refined with cheese, lard and horseradish. Every Tirolean has their own taste and preference.  

The Putzen Alpe: Where the animals are as relaxed as the farmers

With a climb of almost 580 metres of elevation, a moderately difficult tour leads from the Hotel Arlmont to the Putzenalm or Putzen Alpe. Both the semi-hard and mountain cheeses of the hut’s own alpine dairy are an absolute must-try experience. All products are made with great care and passion, the prerequisites for high-altitude farming: At an elevation of 1,700 metres summer snow is not uncommon and a search for lost cattle can result in a serious mountain tour. But the farmers take it easy and serve Tiroler Gröstl and Speckknödel (bread dumplings with bacon) in every weather. By the way, Tiroler Gröstl is a fry-up with potatoes, bacon, beef or pork and a fried egg.

An important contribution to St. Anton's cultivated landscape

With their alpine pastures, the mountain farmers not only provide their cows and sheep with a particularly pleasant summer retreat. They also make an important contribution to Tirol’s ecosystem. Mountain pastures improve the rooting of the soil, allowing the soil to store more water and thereby reducing the risk of flooding in the valley. The meadows also safeguard biodiversity and provide habitats for rare plants and animals.

For summit climbers and St. Anton high alpinists: the Leutkircher Hütte

Admittedly, the Leutkircher Hütte is not an alpine pasture but a mountain hut visited by every resident of St. Anton. No forest road leads to the hut which is situated at a high alpine elevation of 2,251 metres on the Lechtal main ridge. The hut is the starting point for many mountain tours and provides a rewarding experience for hikers who want to earn their lunch. After the climb, a Starkenberger beer, a Tirolean brand of beer, and some bread with dry-cured bacon taste all the better. With a little luck, you might even spot an ibex or the rare Phoebus Apollo, a grey butterfly with black and red dots. Popular tours starting from the hut are the Hirschpleißkopf (2,549 m) and the Stanskogel (2,757 m). However, a high level of fitness, sure-footedness and mountain experience are required for the summit tours.

Mont Spa and Arlmont Restaurant: Perfect to round off the day

After a day of hiking or climbing a summit in St. Anton, there is nothing better than relaxing your aching muscles in the panoramic sauna or enjoying a soak in the rooftop pool. All three levels of the Mont Spa wellness area afford views of the surrounding mountains and the trails of today’s tours. A heavenly relaxing feeling spreads through your body and is only topped by the cosy dinner. You are greeted by the herbs from the wayside, and the regional ingredients from Tirol bring back the exhilarating feeling of your summit victory. Exactly this feeling embodies what holidays at Hotel Arlmont in St. Anton am Arlberg are all about.

Arrival
Departure
Rooms Enquiry Book Now

Aus dem ArlMagazin:

Die schönsten bewirtschafteten Almhütten rund um St. Anton

Fast ein Drittel der Landesfläche Tirols sind Almen und formen damit das einzigartige Landschaftsbild.


 Sie gehören zu diesem kleinen Alpenidyll genauso dazu, wie das Läuten der Kuhglocken und die Gipfelkreuze. Auf den 2.100 Almen werden jährlich 186.000 Kühe, Schweine, Pferde und Schafe aufgetrieben. Denn nur wenn das Vieh mindestens 60 Tage durchgehend auf der Alm bleibt, spricht man von einer Alm. Wo sind nun aber die schönsten Almen rund um das Hotel Arlmont in St. Anton am Arlberg? 

Die Rendlalm: Eines der beliebtesten Wanderziele im Arlberggebiet 

Drei Varianten führen zu der in 1.800 m Höhe gelegenen Rendlalm. Besonders beliebt ist dabei die Mountainbikestrecke. Wer es erst geschafft hat, sich und sein Radl auf die Alm zu bewegen, der muss dafür nicht mehr den Berg runter gehen. Aber keine Sorge: Man kann sich den Auf- oder Abstieg auch zu Fuß verkürzen. Und zwar mit der Rendlbahn. Von dort aus führt der Alpenrosenweg in eineinhalb bis zwei Stunden ganz gemütlich zur Alm. Bonus entlang des ganzen Weges vor allem im Juni/Juli: Die rosablühenden Almrosenstauden. 

Tiroler Tradition verkosten: Neunern & Marend 

Auch das ein oder andere besondere Kraut findet sich am Wegesrand. Während im Tal nur rund sieben Kräuter pro Quadratmeter wachsen, sind es auf Almwiesen 60 bis 70 verschiedene Naturheilmittel. Kein Wunder also, dass Alm-Produkte so gut schmecken. Auf der Rendlalm gibt’s sogar noch so wie früher das Neunern und die Marend. Neunern bezeichnet quasi das zweite Frühstück am Vormittag, das bei der harten Arbeit der Bauern auch nötig war. Marendet wird in Tirol hingegen am Nachmittag. Klassischerweise mit Schwarzbrot, Speck und Essiggurken. Je nachdem gibt’s vielleicht auch Käse, Schmalz und Kren dazu. Da hat jeder Tiroler so seine Vorlieben. 

Die Putzen Alpe: Hier sind die Tiere ebenso gelassen wie die Bauern 

Mit knapp 580 Höhenmetern führt vom Hotel Arlmont aus eine moderate Tour zur Putzenalm oder auch Putzen Alpe. Hier ist es ein absolutes Muss den Schnitt- und Bergkäse der hauseigenen Alm-Sennerei zu probieren. In der Putzenalm steckt nämlich ganz besonders viel Leidenschaft in den Almprodukten. Die braucht es auch: Auf 1.700 Höhenmeter kann es schon mal mitten im Sommer schneien oder die Suche nach der verschollenen Kuh in einer Bergtour enden. Die Bauern nehmen es aber gelassen und servieren bei jedem Wetter Tiroler Gröstl und Speckknödel. Tiroler Gröstl sind übrigens Bratkartoffeln mit Speck, Rind- oder Schweinefleisch und einem Spiegelei. 

Ein wichtiger Beitrag zur St. Antoner Kulturlandschaft 

Die Bergbauern ermöglichen nicht nur ihren Kühen und Schafen eine besonders angenehme Sommerfrische mit ihrer Almwirtschaft. Sie leisten auch einen wichtigen Beitrag zu Tiroler Ökologie. Ein Almbetrieb verbessert die Durchwurzelung des Bodens. Dadurch kann dieser mehr Wasser speichern und die Gefahr von Hochwässern im Tal sinkt. Die Wiesen sichern zudem die Biodiversität und Habitate für seltene Pflanzen und Tiere. 

Für Gipfelstürmer und St. Antoner Hochalpinisten: die Leutkircher Hütte 

Zugegeben ist die Leutkircher Hütte keine Alm. Dafür ist sie aber eine Berghütte, die von jedem St. Antoner besucht wird. Sie liegt auf alpinen 2.251 Metern. Da führt auch kein Forstweg mehr hin. Am Lechtaler Hauptkamm ist sie Ausgangspunkt für viele Bergtouren und Ziel all jener, die sich ihr Mittagessen mit einem Aufstieg verdienen wollen. Dann schmecken ein Starkenberger Bier, eine Tiroler Biersorte, und ein Speckbrot gleich doppelt so gut. Mit etwas Glück entdeckt man am Berg sogar einen Steinbock oder den seltenen Alpenapollo, ein grauer Schmetterling mit Schwarzen und roten Punkten. Beliebte Touren von der Hütte aus sind der Hirschpleißkopf mit 2.549 m oder der Stanskogel mit 2.757 m. Eine hervorragende Kondition, Trittsicherheit und Bergerfahrung sind bei den Gipfeltouren aber Voraussetzung. 

MontSpa und Arlmont Restaurant: Hier kommt alles wieder zusammen 

Nach einer Almwanderung oder sogar einer Gipfeltour gibt es nichts Schöneres, als die Muskeln in der Panoramasauna zu entspannen oder sich im Rooftop-Pool treiben zu lassen. Von allen drei Ebenen des erweiterten Wellness-Bereiches MontSpa aus sieht man die Berge und Wege, die man heute erklommen hat. Ein zufriedenes Gefühl verbreitet sich und wird nur noch getoppt vom gemütlichen Abendessen. Dort begegnen einem die Kräuter vom Wegesrand wieder und die regionalen Zutaten aus Tirol lassen das Gefühl vom Gipfelsieg wiederaufleben. Genau dieses Gefühl ist Sinnbild über einen Urlaub im Hotel Arlmont in St. Anton am Arlberg

Anreise
Abreise
Zimmer Anfrage Buchen